The June 7, 2018 Ontario election

Four consecutive election wins: 2003 through 2014

Four of five Mississauga seats stayed Liberal in the June 12, 2014 election! In our own Mississauga-Streetsville riding, Bob Delaney decisively won re-election, defeating the Conservativs by more than 10,500 votes. Province-wide, the governing Liberals won 58 seats. The opposition Conservatives took 28 seats. The New Democrats were elected in 21 seats. It has been a full century since an Ontario Liberal government has won four straight elections in Ontario. Ontarians liked the results, the non-confrontational attitude, and the solid management accomplishments of professional people working on their behalf.

Four Ontario Liberal election victories in a row? Political dynasties are not that uncommon in Canada. Alberta’s PC Party had governed that province from 1971 to 2015. New Brunswick and Newfoundland have both had extended Liberal governments. Quebec’s last dynasty was the now-defunct Union Nationale party in the 1940s and 1950s. British Columbia was government by the (also-now-defunct) Social Credit party for extended periods through much of the 20th century. The Alberta PCs succeeded a Social Credit dynasty. Saskatchewan has had extended periods of NDP governments.

Following 43 consecutive years of PC government, Ontario voters pressed the Reset button in 1985. Shortly following the formation of that PC minority government, it fell on a vote of confidence, and was replaced with a Liberal minority which lasted two years.

In the 32 years since the historic 1985 election, Ontario Liberals have governed for 19 years (59%); the PC Party for eight years (25%); and the NDP for five years (16%).

  • The Ontario Liberals have won five elections (1987, 2003, 2007, 2011 and 2014) in those 30 years;
  • The Ontario NDP has won one election (1990);
  • The Ontario PCs have won three elections (1985, 1995 and 1999).

The PC minority government of 1985 fell on a confidence vote shortly after the 1985 election. The Lieutenant Governor of Ontario asked the Liberals to form a minority government, which lasted until the 1987 election, which returned a majority Liberal government.